Friday, September 30, 2011

Some thoughts and observations about Scotland (UK) in generally...so far...

Food&drink:
They sure do love their fish and chips. I have always thought that f&c must be some kind of a uberproduct , and because they are a such a fuzz, it must taste very spectacular. Nope. Ive tried it twice, but it still is just chips (french fries in Finland) and a piece of fish, thats been battered and deep fried. I get the same result back at home, when I by frozen fishsticks and fry them on a pan. Its ok, but thats just it.
 Haggis is just minced meat with spices. I though understand why they love it. Its cheep, and back in the days, when nothing could be left over, it was a great way to use sheep as a whole. It was good, and Im proud that I tried it.
 Today I  tried deep fried Mars-bar. It was quite interesting, but I will stick with the regulars. With that nutritious chocobar, I drank a soda called "IRNBRU". Its the local option for "ED" or "Battery" energy drinks. They say it can make you glow at night, because it might be radioactive. We will see it later on tonight... So now I have tried many of the "must try" things here. Kidney pie is still on the list...
Yes, they do drink a lot of beer here, but its cold! I asked about the "warm beer" phenomenon, be cause we still think that Brits drink their beer warm. Only some Brits do that anymore, so that one is busted. Havent seen anybody drinking warm beer. Those of you who know me, know that I dont drink beer anymore. Thank god they have Stronbow, Mangers and Olde English on taps here. Its good, dry and comes in a pint! From 2.90 to 4.00£ a pint.
Theres this drink called Pimms, that many ladies like to drink. Its got fruits and cucumber in it. Its like the "Aqua de Valencia". What ever the bartender has for leftovers ;) No no, tried it. Quite good and refreshing.


The Ladies:
In Finland we think that girls in UK are, Im not gonna say ugly, but not the prettiest one in Europe ;) Well, I kind of like the British girls. Of course there are many, that are a bit chunky on the bottom, but boy, do we have those back in Finland also. No offence to anybody!! Im not the thinnest one myself.. Of course if you  live on fish&chips, the fat is gonna go somewhere, and since its quite cheap in here to dine at McDonalds or at KFC...what do you expect. Theres also many immigrants from all over the globe, and they rule! Oh man, what beauties there walk around the city. This is and inside joke, but for those who understand it, theres been a lot of "Well Hellos". And, I did manage to get a glimpse of the best cleavage ever in Glasgow.
Yours: Teemu "The Observoyer" Paananen ;)

Wednesday, September 28, 2011

23.9. Oban (Isle of Mull)

On Isle of Mull, they sell crack! Gotta love it!
Took the ferry to Isle Of Mull. Oh man, its just so beautiful. I cant wait to get the pictures online. Sheeps, hills, mountains, rain, sunshine, Scottish hospitality. Its all there. I just spent the day walking around, taking pictures, and marveling the scenery. Definitely a place to visit, if ever in Scotland, BUT do take your hiking gear with yous. Since the towns are so small (and few), theres not really much more to see than nature. So just go hiking, take a tent with you or something like that. Aahhh..of course there was a distillery ;)
Tobermorry
My mates from Aussie!

22.9 Glasgow --> Oban

Yar!
I was leaving Glasgow, which was quite depressing city. Its the money capital of Scotland, or so Ive heard, but also the capital of stabbings in whole Europe. Didnt see one, didnt wanna see one. One thing, that caught my eye, was the number of drunk people wondering around the city, no matter what the time was. I later on heard that infact, the unemployment rate is very high in Glasgow. Also heard that the clubbing scene is huge in Glasgow, but as you might now, Im not a big fan of clubs. Thats enough about Glasgow.

So, Im at the Glasgow bus station and I have my timetable (paper) with me. I start to look at the departures, and there no such bus to Oban, that I had planned to use. It started to feel a little dejavuish (incident in Helsinki...read earlier posts). I had already learnt the most valuable lesson in traveling, ask, ask and ask once more. So I go to the infodesk and ask about my bus. "masmspdlarmaeg'ariohma" Excuse me? "masdgoiurtmsdfsmarg" All I understood was "nine o clock". Ok. I wait an half an hour, since my original plan was to leave with the 8.30 bus. Then the 9.00 busses start to appear on the screen...once again, no bus to Oban. I go to the infodesk again. The lady I was talking before, was occupied...thank god, i thought. Boy, was I wrong. I didnt understand a word the second lady was talking. All I heard, and understood, was "bus914" and the gesture, she made with her finger. No, she didnt flip me, although both of the ladys seemed to be assraped in the morning, because they werent on their best moods. Ok, I go to the bus, and as the driver, if this is the right bus to Oban. "Nooo, this dont go there. But maybe you can change the bus on Tyndrum, although I dont now when the bus to Oban is gonna be there" *Pheeeewwwww* Sometimes things are just complicated. Btw, Sara from Italy, thanks again, it was nice talking to you! And if I go to Italy later on, I shall visit the places you recommended.
Eventually I did get to Oban

Oban is this little town in the western coast of Scottish Highlands. The scenery was awesome! Little harbour, ferry, fishing boats, seagulls. Once again, starts the search for accommodation. After visiting tourist info, I walked to this Hostel, but the office wasnt gonna open until in 3 hours. There were these two ladys, and I asked them if they now how much is it gonna cost, and if theres vacancy. "Yeah, theres plenty of room" they replied. And they said they were staff. Ok, excellent. I go on my way, get something to eat and so on. Then I get back to the Hostel, but I was still early. The office opens finally, and I try to check in. No vacancy??!! wtf...apparently the two girls, were cleaning women, and didnt have a clue about the big group, that was gonna settle in there... Oh man...well, thats what traveling sometimes is. And no problemo, the lady at the office was a bit ashamed, and called to another hostel, if theres room, and voila, it was even 2£ cheaper ;)

The best thing about this hostel was, that there was a pub downstairs. These UK guys btw really like rally. Ari Vatanen is still a huge hero here, Toivonen, Mikkola...and so on. After talking about rally, I met this Australian couple, and soberness was of the table that night. Oh man, the amounts of Jack&Coke that they drank.. Why do they spoil a decent Coke with Jack Daniels...yeah, they drink it a lot here. The Australian guy said, that hes gonna have the Loch Ness monster in their room at the morning, and yeah, the lady did remind it a bit in the morning, when my path crossed with them ;)

Oban harbour

Oban Harbour


Whos that dude?

yes, its a stone.jpg

Oban

Oban

Monday, September 26, 2011

26.9 Inverness (Scotland)

The funniest thing happened. I came yesterday from a place called Portree (I shall make some kind of a map later on, of the places Ive been). It was 8.30pm, and as usual, I didnt have any booking made for any of the hostels. The first hostel was fully booked, but they kindly told me the way to another hostel, which was supposed to have plenty of room. Ok, I go there, check in, open the door to my dorm, and there comes this friendly "Teemu, what are you doing here?" Oh man, the world is just sometimes so small. There was Daniel (Mr Austria), whom I had met in Glasgow on Tuesday! And now, couple of days later, we are in the same hostel and room, in Inverness. We were on our way for a quest for food. And you know, thats not the easiest task in a little town deep in the Scottish highlands!


Later on, you will hear about the political atmosphere in Austria, and infact you will here about the political climate from every counrty, that i run to on my journey =) Oh, I just love to discuss about the politics with these packpackers, its so much fun! And that has became my basic question for everybody "Whats the political climate in your county". i guess Daniel really remembered our discussion, because he told me, that theres nothing new, since we last spoke ;)


And to the next bus! Byeeee......

The List of Shame (to be updated as necessary)

McDonalds: 4    (times)
Burger King: 2    (times)
KFC: 1 (times)
Taxi: 1 (times)

I have no excuse, Im just so shamed.... I promise to update this list everytime, I make these mistakes..

Yours: Teemu

Saturday, September 24, 2011

19.9 London

Ay mates!

Mark5
 Some of you, who knows me a little bit better, knows that Im interested in WWII. Well, there just happens to be a Imperial War museum in London! *whoaaaah* I almost wet my pants as I entered the museum. There were a couple of the worlds most famous WWI&II tanks at the lobby! The Mark5 (WWI) and Sherman and Jagdtiger from the latter. You dont realize the size of those before you stand next to one. Humankind has always been genious, when it comes to killing eachother. Of course there was the Pak88, British 5.5 pounder artillery and so on.

Jagdtiger

There was this whole section about the holocaust and the ghettos. Been in many of those already ( in other museums I mean), and once again, tears started pouring from the corner of my eyes.
Anyways, great museum. These pictures tells a lot more than my words. Youngsters, dont ya ever forget the horrors of the war! <-- educational advert! ;)
Yeah, dont rush me, I did go to the British museum also. What can I say about it. Its huge! It has everything you can imagine, and some more. Wasnt a place for me though, but those of you who love the pottery and jewelry from thousand of years ago, its THE place to go.

Pak 88
 This particular day, I only used the tube. So London underground is now officially done! Tsek.

ps. I ate my first decent meal of my journey this day. Pasta with smoked salmon and cream. I have to say, that after all of those sandwiches ive had in last couple of days, it tasted absolutely fantastic =)

pps. this entry is written In a library of Oban. I, therefore, am now an official member of the Oban library! Im not gonna lend any of the books thou... ;) Im just spending time, and waiting for my bus to leave for a town/village called Forth William.

Thursday, September 22, 2011

18.9. London

Sorry, these dont all come in a logical order, but better later than ever, ay? My best purchase ever is this paper notepad that I bought from london. I note keywords, people and places to it, so that I can recall them later and do my blog. And of course  other people can write down the places and locations in their home countries, so that I can visit them later. Those of you who know me, also know my memory...everything has to be written down.
So, Im in London. At the very first whole day I only walk or use bus. So those of you, who are puritanists, no, I didnt use a cab. One reason I went to London, was the musicals. Seen couple on them in Big Apple, so have to try it in UK. I bought a ticket to "Shrek - The musical"! No, its not just for kids. Ive loved all the movies, so why wouldnt I see the musical. And I loved it. Infact I cried...yes, Im not ashamed to admit it. But I didnt cry for the greatness of the story, because it lacked something, but I cried for all the props, lights and sound, and mostly because of this woman singer, who singed the part of the dragon (go see the movie, if you dont know what Im talking about). It was just so amazing, the singing went through all my body, and tears came to my eyes. Pure greatness..











In the evening I met this guy we shall call "Fannyman". Those of you, who doesnt know what "fanny" means, go google it ;) The conversation started like this. "Hi, Im looking for some MILF fanny. Lets go find it together". Oh my god! The dude looked like Ali-G, and he was after some fanny, American fanny. About the age of 35....boy, were we in a wrong pub. Ok, the dude had this t-shirt or jersey, I dont know, but it was Queens Park Rangers fan-shirt, and he was very proud of it...Since I was in England, I tried to be funny. I asked the if the QPR was an ice-hockey team? You should have seen his face :) Im so proud of myself sometimes....Aaaahhh...the outcome? We had a couple of pints, and during them I had heard about ten times, that I will not get any fanny here in London...as if ive had asked...Anyway, the situation was hilarious. I went to my hostel, and got a good nights sleep...hopefully "fannyman" found what he was looking for!

Wednesday, September 21, 2011

21.9 Glasgow, Scotland

Hello!
It raining, well, what did you expext, but it doesnt matter to me. Just went to local Lidl and bouht me a banana!
Ive got a travelers bus ticket in my backpocket now, and I can ride the bus around Scotland as much as I like in 5 days out of 10. Tomorrow Im leaving Glasgow to go a place called Oban. The receptionist (a beatifull on btw) was kind enough to write down a nice route through the Scottish countryside. So, Im leaving the big cities for now, and heading to feel the real Scottish countryside. I was told that I could even see dolphins on my way. YAR!

Yours: Teemu

ps.Updates are a bit short, and a rare at the moment but as soon as I buy me a computer, things will be easier.

Monday, September 19, 2011

Our men at the world...part 2

So, I seem to have had a thing called brainfart, and I missed my flight by a day. After 30 seconds of swetting and swearing, I head to Finnairs ticket booth and ask for a flight to London. "No can do today, but you should ask from the British Airways booth". I haul my ass and backpack to the other booth and ask for a ticket. Theres 3 seats still, and the price isnt bad, if I use the internet userface further down the hallway. Hey, I saved 70€ by bookong over internet, rather than buying it from the sales office...lifes is a mysterious one.
So, I now have a ticket for the same day, and the plane is lesaving only 60minutes later than my original plan was. Yippee! London is calling for me anyway.

The one hour "delay" from my f****** idiotism, and the planes 30minutes hovering over London, caused me a little rush for getting the first nights accommodation. Because, of course I hadnt booked it in advance, 'cause Im going with the flow... So take the train from Heatrow-airport to Paddington station, and start wondering around. I see this pub with a friendly looking barmaid and rush in for a drink and advice...

Shit, I have to buy a computer, or a tabblet for this blogging. My time is running out again, and I have look for a train connection to Scotland!

Yar!
Gin&Tonic and a cider! Of course!

Miehemme maailmalla...(Our men on the world)

At Helsinki-Vantaa airport! Ready to fly..
At first, I may have to change the language to english, or do both finnish and english blog. Eitherway...my trip started just the way it could. I get to the airport in good time. I wanted to be able to join the athmosphere and change some money and so on. Ok, I get into Terminal 2 and start to find my flight. There no such flight to London. Sweat starts to rise to my forehead, and my hearts starts to lose some of its beats. I look at the flight ticket...OH SHIT! My flight was yesterday... Way to go Mr Teemu. =) If you manage to miss your first flight, by a day, what will the rest of the trip be like.

More to come, but my time is up now


ps. Charlotte, please send me email, because I couldnt read the adress anymore...

Friday, September 16, 2011

Anteeksipyyntö

Teiltä, joille tämä tuli uutisena, pyydän anteeksi tapaani toimia. Toivottavasti kukaan ei ota itseensä. Tässä on vain ollut niin paljon säätöä ja ähellystä. Välillä matka on näyttänyt varmalta, ja seuraavalla hetkeltä taas on tuntunut siltä että en pääse minnekään (Määränpää???). Ja reissun pituus ja kohdekin on ehtinyt muuttua matkan aikana. Olenkin puhunut asiasta enimmäkseen "need to know basis"-periaatteella, koska vihaan selitellä miksi joku ei sitten onnistunutkaan, tai miksi en sitten saanutkaan tehtyä jotain.

Teidän
Teemu Pannahinen

"aatto ilta pitkä ooon"

Tältä ei tämä yhdistelmä ole näyttänyt muutamaan vuoteen...
Zkädääm!
Viime päivät on mennyt hoidellessa pikku asioita. Kolikko tuoppi on viety pankkiin Rouvat olivat pankissa muuten äärettömän huvittuneita, kun kysyin matkashekkejä. Pitihän sitä kysäistä, että vieläkö sellaisia käytetään....ei kuulemma. 70-luku oli kulta-aikaa kyseisille fläbäreille.

Kävin ostamassa jopa uuden kameran, kun sattui olemassa tarjouksessa. Kysyin myyjältä että onko hyvä, ja myyjä siihen että paras mitä tuolla rahalla saa (99€). On muuten sellainen myyntislougani että meikäläinen ei voinut enää ohittaa tarjousta. Pakastin sulaa parhaillaan, ja aamulla söin sieltä viimeiset jätökset pois. Tiskit on tiskattu, ja roskat kerätty ainakin jo kasaan.

Rinkka odottaa täyttäjäänsä sohvan nurkalla. Minulle on aina äärimmäisen vaikeaa, jopa mahdotonta pakata etukäteen, joten todennäköisesti tämä jää jälleen kerran lähtöpäivälle. Olen kuitenkin hankkinut etukäteen joitakin todennäköisesti tarpeellisia tuotteita. Esim muovilautasen. Väitän, että kun päräytän esim Amsterdamissa kyseiselle Nalle Puh-lautaselle purkin spamia, saan huomattavan määrän katu-uskottavuutta.

No mutta sitten se tärkein. "Teemu, miltä nyt tuntuu?" Suoraan sanottuna tuntuu aivan helvatan hienolta. Jännittää myös ihan mukavasti. On kuitenkin meikäläisen ensimmäinen reissu yksin, ja noinkin pitkä. Uskon toki, että asiat menee hienosti. Hivenellä itsesuojeluvaistoa, ja sopivalla määrällä maalaistolloa, pärjää aina! Eurooppa, here I come!

Teemu

Thursday, September 8, 2011

Kuka, miksi, mitä?

Päivää.
Nimeni on Paananen, Teemu Paananen. On minua tosin Lastulevykauppiaaksikin tituleerattu.
Heti kärkeen muutama seikka. Olen käsittänyt että blogin pitäisi olla viihdyttävä. Sitä en voi luvata, mutta tositapahtumiin perustuva se tulee olemaan. Syytä ei bloggaamiseen kai nykyään edes tarvita, tosin minulla on sellainenkin. Aloitetaan siis siitä.

Minulla on kaksi syytä kirjoittaa tätä:
1) Erittäin moni on tätä minulta pyytänyt.
2) Suomessa on ainakin muutama henkilö, joka on kiinnostunut miten minulla menee, ja missä. Tämä blogi lisää toivottavasti turvallisuuden tunnetta molemminpuolin.

Tästä päästäänkin jouhevasti siihen, miksi minulta on tätä pyydetty. Ensinnäkin, olen irtisanoutunut. Viimeinen työpäiväni oli 31.8 keskiviikkona. Olen ollut tuuliajolla siitä lähtien. Täytyy tunnustaa että työttömän arki on toistaiseksi maistunut mainiosti. Alkossa olen käynyt vain kerran, vaikka se kuuluu kuulemma olennaisesti työttämän arkeen. Tiedä häntä. Olen vieraillut kaupoissa aikoihin, jolloin ne ovat eläkeläisten kansoittamia, ja huomannut, että ei vain ole olemassa aikaa, milloin sinne voisi mennä menettämättä hermojaan (paitsi lähikaupan viimeiset tunnit, klo 21.00-23.00). Tiedän, vika on minussa.

Olen saanut hoidettua sellaisia asioita mitkä ovat olleet "things to do" listalla vuosia. Rannekellossani on uusi patteri. Sen vaihtaminen maksoi 5€. Miksi en tehnyt tätä jo vuonna 2006, jolloin patteri loppui. Keittiön hanani on käyty korjaamassa, eikä se enää vuoda. Miksi en hoitanut sitäkin vuonna 2006. Tässä muutamia mainitakseni. Nyt voikin kysyä, olenko saanut asiat hoidettua koska minulla on enemmän aikaa, vai koska minulla on parempi olo? Muahahhahahaaa.

No mutta eihän tämä vielä mitä, se varsinaisen pihvi on siinä, että minulla ei ole uutta työpaikkaa. En ole sellaista etsinyt, enkä hakenut. Päätin tehdä irtioton, todellisen muutoksen elämään. Ja ei, en ole voittanut lotossa, tai saanut perintöä. Minulla ei ole säästöjä, ja asunnostani kaikki vessanpönnötä lukuunottamatta on vielä pankin. Päätin vain, että maailma pitää hanttapuleista huolen, ja työtä löytyy tekevälle. Ennen kuin sitä tekevän työtä edes aion etsiä, päätin kuitenkin pitää kunnon loman. Ja se loma alkaa 16.9. lauantaina, kun lentokone lähtee lähtee Helsinki-Vantaalta ja päätyy toivottavasti Lontooseen. Eikä tässäkään vielä kaikki, vaan takaisin olen luvannut olla joulukuuksi. 2,5 kuukautta euroopassa, mukana vain passi ja visa. Tämän takia tämä blogi loppujen lopuksi on, mutta on hyvä valottaa hieman historiaa, eikö?

Jatkossa täällä tulee siis olemaan enemmän tai vähemmän up to date informaatiota miten matkani on edennyt ja missä. Ajattelin jopa hankkia kameran kyseistä matkaa varten, jotta voisin teitä ilahduttaa otoksilla. Saas nähdä miten käy. Olen tunnetusti äärettömän laiska ottamaan kuvia...


Teemu Paananen

ps. Levittäkää tätä blogia kaikille, ketkä voisivat olla menemisistäni kiinnostuneita. En kuitenkaan näet muista tätä puolillekaan ystävistäni mainostaa.

pps. Ja ne, jotka eivät täällä muista käydä, voivat tilata sen sähköpostiinsa tuolta oikealta.