This is how to do it "Teemu"-style.
First you search the internet for an some kind of travelers pass to go around Germany by train. Then you find a train that is going straight to your next target. At this point everything is quite fine. You get to the station early enough that you can purchase the ticket just to hear that the station you are at doesnt sell that kind of ticket. F***. I still want to get to Hamburg. So I by a single ticket to hamburg but as the intercity would cost 84€, I take my chances and take the local trains and save 40€. The thing is that I have to change 3 times. This is where thing start to go wrong. I go to the platform that I was instructed to go and take the train that comes at the time that is printed on the timetable just to hear from the conductor that Im on the wrong train. Nice. "What shall we do ?"I ask the guy politely since we were already moving. 5 minutes in a train and of at the next station. Ok. Now I need new timetable and somehow I managed to obtain that from the staff at the station I left the train...Dortmund? Im now gonna be over an hour later in Hamburg but its not a problem since the train is gonna be there soon after 19pm.
Hey, its not that easy. The next train had to stop in the middle of nowhere for about ten minutes and now I only had 3 minutes of time to change the train at next station. The clever ones might already guess whats gonna happen next... thank god the platform is printed on the timetable. I rush through the station which just happens to be under renovation and the platform numbers arent where they supposed to be. So I rush forwards just to realize that I have gone too far. I run back to correct platform and to the train waiting there. A man smiles to me and my good luck of getting into the train in time. So just to be sure I show him the timetable to make certain that Im on correct train. All I can understand is that Im not on the correct train. I yell "oh shit!" and rush through the doors just before the train leaves. Once again I go to have a chat with staff at the station just to hear that its almost an hours wait for the next train. Nice... Seldom does a slice of pizza and a coke taste so good. As im writing this I sit on the last train and im bound to Hamburg. Gonna be there at 22.38 if there no problems. My next blog could be about me trying to find budget accommodation in Hamburg. Over and out!
ps.
Well I finally made it to hamburg but the clock being now 22.38 tourist info was of course closed. Polizai didnt have a clue where there could be hostels but at least one spoke English. It was time to add a new entry to the list of shame, taxi. It was the firts time during my trip that I used taxi. I had an address of one hostel and the driver seemed to know where it was. In fact the ride was even cheaper than the driver said it would be. Nice. Now that I have a map, it would have been at least an 60min walk from the station so I might forgive myself.
No comments:
Post a Comment